There are three Roaring Fork Schools Board of Education seats up for election on November 7, 2017:

  • District A (currently held by Jen Rupert) for a four year term;
  • District D (currently held by Shane Larson), to serve the remainder of Daniel Biggs' four-year term, which began November 2015 and ends in November 2019; and
  • District E (currently held by Bob Johnson), for a four year term.

You can see a static map of the districts here, or you can access an interactive map (where you can type a specific address) here.

Those interested in running for the school board must be a registered voter of the district for at least 12 consecutive months before the election. The candidate must live in the district that he or she runs to represent.

Starting on August 9 (and not beforehand), candidates may pick up a nomination packet and circulate their nomination petitions for signatures. Please check the district Board of Education webpage for details on locations and time. Candidates must file a nomination petition signed by at least 50 eligible electors from throughout the school district. Additionally, candidates must submit a written notice of intention to be a candidate and other official paperwork. All documents must be filed by September 1, 2017.

Senior Project Manager Angie Davlyn is the district’s designated election official and will be responsible for running the election. Davlyn will publicize notice and additional details prior to the election in accordance to state law.

Go to top